The 1st Vision Workshop on Optical Wireless Communications

Organizing Committee


In the last decade, we have seen a growing trend in research and development activities in the emerging field of Optical Wireless Communications (OWC) covering Visible-Light Communications  (VLC) and free space communications (FSO) for indoor and outdoor application including as well underwater communications.

Visible light based Interoperability and Networking (VisIoN) is a European project (grant agreement n° 764461) funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020. The project is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Innovative Training Network (MSCA ITN); a joint research training and doctoral programme, implemented by a partnership of high profile universities, research institutions and industrial research partners that are located in 7 different countries (see It aims to train a new generation of early-stage researchers in the emerging area of VLC covering Smart Cities, Offices and Homes, Smart Transportation, and Manufacturing and Medical.

As part of the Vision workshop, there will be a number of technical Workshops on the Topic of OWC and in particular VLC and its application. The aim isto bring together researchers from Vision, academia and industry working in the field of OWC to present, share and discuss their latest research findings. High technical quality papers are solicited to be presented at the Workshop.


  • All organic based VLCs
  • Channel modelling and characterisation
  • Channel capacity analysis
  • Diversity techniques
  • Dimming and communication in VLC
  • OWC-based localisation
  • Free space optics (indoor, outdoor and under water)
  • Hybrid RF/VLC/FSO
  • MIMO for VLC/FSO
  • Modelling of various noises in optical wireless communications
  • Modulation, coding and detection schemes
  • Mobile-to-infrastructure and mobile-to-mobile optical communication
  • Novel (photonic) devices and components
  • VLC and FSO networks: architecture, PHY/MAC design, cross-layer design etc.
  • OWC applications
  • Transceiver design and optimization
  • Duplexing and multiple access techniques
  • OWC for the space industry
  • Underwater OWC communication
  • Ultraviolet communications

Technical Commitee

  • Dr Volker Jungnickel, Fraunhofer-Institut für Nachrichtentechnik, HHI, Germany
  • Prof Rafael Perez-Jimenez, ULPGC–Las Palmas, Spain
  • Prof Murat Uysal, Özyeğin University, Turkey
  • Dr Gerhard Maierbacher, OSRAM, Germany
  • Dr Emrah Kinav, Ford Otomotiv Sanayi A.S, Turkey
  • Jorge Garcia-Marquez, OLEDCOMM, France

Paper Submission

Papers submitted to special session must not have been published, submitted, or accepted for publication elsewhere. IEEE policy regarding plagiarism and duplicate submission/publication will be strictly enforced.
Papers should be submitted electronically before submission deadline, via EDAS ( Paper submissions should follow the IEEE double-column format for conferences (templates available on the conference Web site, A maximum of (8) pages, including all figures and references, are allowed for each paper. Submitted papers will undergo a peer review process, coordinated by the Program Committee. Submission of a paper implies that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors must register and attend the conference to present the work.

Important Dates

Full Papers – 5 April 2019

Notification of Acceptance –10 May 2019

Final, Camera Ready Papers. 24 May 2019

Technical cosponsorship:

IEEE Austria Section
IEEE Austria Section

IEEE Croatia Section
IEEE Croatia Section

IEEE Communications
/ Microwave Theory and Techniques
Societies Joint Austria Chapter

IEEE ComSoc Croatia Chapter
IEEE ComSoc Croatia Chapter


[TU Graz logo]

Graz University of Technology
Faculty of Electrical and Information Engineering

[UniZG FER logo]

University of Zagreb
Faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering


[NXP logo]
NXP Semiconductors

[TDK logo]
TDK Electronics

[Rekirsch logo]
Rekirsch Elektronik

[Anritsu logo]

[Glyn logo]

[Glyn logo]

Special Acknowledgement:

[Stadt Graz sign]

City of Graz

[Steiermark coat of arms]

Province of Styria