Call for papers

CALL FOR PAPERS [download as PDF]
June 30 – July 2, 2021


The 16th International Conference on Telecommunications, ConTEL 2021, will be held in Zagreb, Croatia, on June 30 – July 2, 2021. Through its technical program, the conference will provide an opportunity for the academic and industrial communities to address new research challenges, share solutions and discuss issues in information and communication technology (ICT) referring to modern telecommunications.

The ConTEL 2021 aims to reflect on current and emerging networking technologies that enable ubiquitous Internet and communications as key drivers of connected information society. With new services and access networks, there is a growing need for improvement in networking infrastructure – not just in terms of quality and performance, but also in scalability, mobility, energy efficiency, and multiple technologies integration. Original research papers are solicited that present theoretical, as well as applied, practical and experimental work related to the areas and topics of interest listed below. The conference program will offer technical sessions, presenting the latest advances through peer-reviewed regular and special sessions, as well as workshops with focus on the latest breakthroughs in selected areas related to the conference. The format of the event will take into account the COVID-19 situation and travel restrictions. Our wish, and goal, is to have a live or hybrid event, with virtual participation as necessary. Stay safe and healthy and we hope to see you in Zagreb!


University of Zagreb – Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Graz University of Technology – Faculty of Electrical and Information Engineering,


IEEE Croatia Section

IEEE Communications Society Croatia Chapter

IEEE Communications / Microwave Theory and Techniques Societies Joint Austria Chapter


We are soliciting contributed technical papers, special session proposals, and workshops proposals referring to the following topics of interest:

  • All-optical networks, optical switching and routing, data center networks
  • Broadband mobile and wireless communications
  • Internet of things (IoT) and sensor networks
  • Smart spaces: context- and situation-awareness
  • Internet and next generation networking
  • Energy-efficient protocols and networking
  • Software defined networks and network function virtualization
  • Multimedia applications, rich communications services and networked games
  • QoE and QoS assessment and provisioning
  • Big data in telecommunications
  • Social networking and social media
  • Security and privacy issues in ICT services and networks
  • Digital inclusion and assistive technology in ICT services


February 15, 2021: Special Session and Workshop Proposals, Due

February 28, 2021: Special Session and Workshop Proposals, Due

March 21, 2021: Full Papers, Due

May 7, 2021: Notification of Acceptance/Rejection

May 21, 2021: Final, Camera Ready Papers, Due


Honorary Chairs

Erich Leitgeb
Graz University of Technology, Austria
Institute of Microwave and Photonic Engineering

Maja Matijašević
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

General Chairs

Wilfried Gappmair
Graz University of Technology, Austria
Institute of Communication Networks and Satellite Communications

Mario Kušek
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Program Chairs

Franz Teschl
Graz University of Technology, Austria
Institute of Communication Networks and Satellite Communications

Marin Vuković
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Organizing Committee Chair

Jasna Slavinić
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Publication Chairs

Martina Antonić
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Jurica Babić
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Web Chair

Ivona Brajdić
University of Zagreb, Croatia
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing

Technical Program Committee

Slaviša Aleksić, Hochschule für Telekommunikation, Leipzig, Germany

Dinko Begušić, University of Split, Croatia

Zmago Brezočnik, University of Maribor, Slovenia

Tasos Dagiuklas, London South Bank University, UK

Hakan Deliç, Boğaziçi University, Istanbul, Turkey

Bernd Eichberger, Graz University of Technology, Austria

Michael Gebhart, EPCOS, Deutschlandsberg, Austria

Mariusz Głąbowski, Poznan University of Technology, Poland

Ivan Gojmerac, FREQUENTIS AG, Austria

Denis Gracanin, Virginia Tech, USA

Darko Huljenić, Ericsson Nikola Tesla, Croatia

Sándor Imre, Budapest Univ. of Tech. & Econ., Hungary

Admela Jukan, TU Braunchweig, Germany

Irena Jurdana, University of Rijeka, Croatia

Andreas Kassler, Karlstad University, Sweden

Andrej Kos, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Dragana Krstić, University of Niš, Serbia

Michael Logothetis, University of Patras, Greece

Ignac Lovrek, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Galia Marinova, Technical University of Sofia, Bulgaria

Vera Marković, University of Niš, Serbia

Vjekoslav Matić, Infineon, Graz, Austria

Branko Mikac, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Miljenko Mikuc, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Marie-Jose Montpetit, Concordia University, Canada

Hector E. Nistazakis, University of Athens, Greece

Thomas Plagemann, University of Oslo, Norway

Peter Planinšič, University of Maribor, Slovenia

Peter Pocta, Zilina University, Slovakia

Ivana Podnar Žarko, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Vedran Podobnik, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Sheikh Sajid, National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences, Pakistan

Vilmos Simon, Budapest Univ. of Tech. & Econ., Hungary

Nicolas Sklavos, University of Patras, Greece

Zoran Skočir, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Lea Skorin-Kapov, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Andreas Springer, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria

Viktor Sučić, University of Rijeka, Croatia

Toshitaka Tsuda, Waseda University, Japan

Otakar Wilfert, University of Technology Brno, Czech Rep.

Drago Žagar, University of Osijek, Croatia


Papers submitted to ConTEL must not have been published, submitted, or accepted for publication elsewhere. IEEE policy regarding plagiarism and duplicate submission/publication will be strictly enforced.

Papers should be submitted electronically before submission deadline, via EDAS ( Paper submissions should follow the IEEE double-column format for conferences (templates available on the conference Web site, A maximum of (8) pages, including all figures and references, are allowed for each paper. Submitted papers will undergo a peer review process, coordinated by the Program Committee. Submission of a paper implies that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors must register and attend the conference to present the work.


Proposals are solicited for special sessions related to the conference topics. A special session proposal (up to 2 pg.) should contain the session organizer(s) short bio and contact information, the special session title, summary, and objectives, and a list of prospective authors and papers to be submitted to the special session.

All papers submitted to a special session must comply with general paper submission guidelines, be submitted before paper submission deadline, and go through a regular review procedure.

Proposals for half and full day workshops to be held in conjunction with the main conference are solicited. A workshop should focus on a specific theme related to the main conference topics. The proposal (up to 2 pg.) should clearly describe the theme and scope of the workshop, and include the workshop chair(s) short biography and contact information, and a tentative list of program committee members.